Dr. Barbara Sturm
vs PCA SKIN
Two formulas, with different prices and ingredient blends.
| What to compare | Dr. Barbara Sturm Hyaluronic Serum | PCA SKIN Hyaluronic Acid Boosting Serum |
|---|---|---|
| US reference price | $325 / 30 mL · $10.83/mL | $128 / 30 mL · $4.27/mL |
| HA forms | Sodium hyaluronate; brand describes multiple molecular sizes | Hyaluronic acid, hydrolyzed HA, sodium hyaluronate |
| Disclosed concentrations | Not disclosed | HA and niacinamide percentages not disclosed |
| Other ingredients to consider | Butylene glycol, fermented purslane extract | Glycerin, dimethicone, niacinamide, ceramides NP/AP/EOP |
| Format | Serum; dropper | Serum; pump |
| Evidence status | Ingredient-level HA evidence; exact-formula controlled evidence not established here. | Six-week serum study with 40 women; no vehicle-control group described in abstract. |
The practical difference
Dr. Barbara Sturm: A short published ingredient list makes this an option for readers who prefer a less complex formula.
PCA SKIN: A broader hydration formula that includes niacinamide and barrier lipids alongside HA.
What the comparison cannot tell you
Dr. Barbara Sturm: The luxury price does not establish better hydration. We did not identify a controlled trial of the exact current formula in this review.
PCA SKIN: The page’s 50% HA increase is based on laboratory data. Its ingredient list also includes aroma and rosemary oil. The niacinamide percentage cannot be assumed to match a 5% trial.
These published details do not establish a clinical winner. No head-to-head study of this pair was identified in this review. Prices were checked 2 November 2026; confirm current local prices.
Read the ingredient evidence