Hydration.
Look past the price.
Five premium hyaluronic acid serums. What is in them, what you pay for, and what the studies can actually tell you.
Our take: HA can help skin hold water. Spending more does not, by itself, establish better hydration. Start with the formula, how it fits your routine and the evidence behind the claim.
How to compareFive formulas, side by side
Download the dataScroll sideways to compare ingredients and evidence. Prices are US one-time reference prices checked 2 November 2026, before tax or shipping; other markets may differ.
| Serum | Price and size | HA forms | Concentrations | Supporting ingredients | Evidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
ALASTIN HA IMMERSE Serum![]() | $134 / 29.6 mL · $4.53/mL | Sodium hyaluronate + crosslinked sodium hyaluronate | Not disclosed | Glycerin, dimethicone, sugar humectants, Octapeptide-45 | Brand-associated open-label research; no head-to-head comparison. |
Dr. Barbara Sturm Hyaluronic Serum![]() | $325 / 30 mL · $10.83/mL | Sodium hyaluronate; brand describes multiple molecular sizes | Not disclosed | Butylene glycol, fermented purslane extract | Ingredient-level HA evidence; exact-formula controlled evidence not established here. |
ISDIN Hyaluronic Concentrate![]() | $115 / 30 mL · $3.83/mL | Low- and medium-molecular-weight HA, according to brand | Not disclosed | BioMarine extract, peptides, lentil extract | Brand user-perception claims plus ingredient-level HA evidence. |
PCA SKIN Hyaluronic Acid Boosting Serum![]() | $128 / 30 mL · $4.27/mL | Hyaluronic acid, hydrolyzed HA, sodium hyaluronate | HA and niacinamide percentages not disclosed | Glycerin, dimethicone, niacinamide, ceramides NP/AP/EOP | Six-week serum study with 40 women; no vehicle-control group described in abstract. |
SkinCeuticals H.A. Intensifier Multi-Glycan![]() | $120 / 30 mL · $4.00/mL | Brand states 1.3% hyaluronic acid | 1.3% HA; 12% Proxylane; 2% ferment, brand figures | Proxylane, soybean ferment, licorice and purple rice extracts | Manufacturer formula claims; generic HA studies cannot validate every claim. |
Ingredient studies, explained
2011 · PMID 22052267Does the size of hyaluronic acid matter?
Molecular size can matter, but this does not prove that the smallest HA is always best.
2001 · PMID 18498456Why glycerin deserves a place beside HA
Hydration and barrier repair are different outcomes.
2005 · PMID 16029679What niacinamide adds to the conversation
PCA SKIN lists niacinamide, but does not disclose its percentage on the checked page.
2021 · PMID 34176098A six-week serum study: promising, with limits
No randomised vehicle-control group is described in the abstract.
2022 · PMID 35833366HA and peptides: reading an open-label study
This was open-label, without a vehicle-control comparison described in the abstract.
How we chose them
This is an editorial selection of five premium, HA-focused serums priced above US $100, with accessible manufacturer information. It is not a sales ranking or a claim that these are the five most effective products. Brand order is alphabetical.
Prices, sizes, highlighted ingredients and photos come from the linked manufacturer pages, checked 2 November 2026. Selected ingredient summaries are not full INCI lists. Check your box for the current formula. We reviewed the linked PubMed abstracts, not every full paper or the entire ingredient literature. We have not tested the products.
Laboratory claims, user surveys, ingredient trials and finished-formula clinical studies answer different questions. No head-to-head study of these five was established in this review.




